Author Topic: Our new 10g multies tank! Plus questions...  (Read 834 times)

Offline prog_frog

• Brevis
    • View Profile
Our new 10g multies tank! Plus questions...
« on: January 04, 2017, 06:48:54 PM »
Hi, everyone -

After a few weeks of waiting for someone nearby to have the multies we wanted for our 10 gallon shell-dweller tank, we finally were able to purchase 5 from The Fish Hut in New Jersey. They've been home for two plus days now and we are really enjoying watching them. Here are a couple of photos and

(taken on Day 1, just a few hours after adding them to the tank)
(taken on the morning of Day 3)

I have some questions at this point:

1) The store said the multies are juveniles, but now that we have them home, I'm not so sure. I'm not good at eyeballing measurements, but they seem all to definitely be over 1". The shells are standard escargot shells for scale. And while they're not all the same size, they're not drastically different either, so I'm not sure how many males and females we have and am hoping we didn't accidentally end up with 5 of the same gender. For those who have kept multies, what do you think, based upon the videos/photos?

2) You may notice that they have some fin damage especially on the tail fin and I think it might be a bit worse than when we got them first home. They are occasionally fighting/nipping and I wonder if that's why. Is this typical in the early days when they're working out their territories, or should we expect this in general? Should I be concerned about their fins or add something like Melafix to help repair their fins?

3) The store suggested I feed them New Life Spectrum Cichlid Formula sinking pellets, but they haven't been super excited about them (they're also fairly large for their little mouths). It could be that they're still getting settled, but I wonder if I should try something else like frozen brine shrimp.